Honouring the People Who Make the Place

May 24, 2024
Group of 20 year service employees with President Maggie Matear.

Representing 900 years of service to students and the regional post-secondary community, Selkirk College recognized commitment to learning at its annual Employee Recognition & Retirement Dinner.

An annual spring tradition at the Castlegar Campus, the event put focus on the importance of those who ensure there is community in college.   

“Every employee that works at the college—past or present—plays in vital role in what post-secondary accomplishes in our region,” said Margaret Sutherland, chair of the college’s Board of Governors who brought greetings to those assembled in mid-May. “Whether teaching in the classroom, providing key services to students, maintaining facilities or supporting colleagues in the best possible way, it’s a team effort that makes student success a reality.” 

Years of service for this year’s group totaled 695 years and included: 

35 Years: Kerry Young

25 Years: Sarah Fawcett, Luree Gould, Daryl Jolly, Andrea Kosling, Krista Mannle, Kerry Pagdin, Theresa Southam, Rena Vandenbos, Sabrina Van Hellemond, Romany Watt-Osecki

20 Years: Carter Balzer, Charla Beaulieu, Christine Bidinoff, Doug Henderson, Rebecca Jacobson, Keyes Lessard, Gerald Lightburn, Robert Schwarzer, Jill Seaborn, Shannon Shah, Tiffany Snauwaert

10 Years: Aimie Chernoff, Michelle Colley, Jason Da Costa, Elizabeth (Beth) Engel, Kamren Farr, Stephen Harris, Susanna Harrison, Lindsay Hewson, Misoon Jang, Jeremy Kenning, Kathryn Kimmerly, Ellie Knight, Sarah Lechthaler, Lito Mangapot, Darrin Markvardsen, Kayla Martin, Angelene Phillips, Christine Schmidt, Tessa Stark

Group of long service employees and retirees who attended the annual dinner
Some of the long-term and retiring Selkirk College employees who attended the annual 2024 Employee Recognition & Retirement Dinner in mid-May.

The presentation of retirees included individual tributes to those in attendance. In total, the 10 people who have retired from their positions at the college in the last year represent an just over 200 years of service to post-secondary education in the region.

Melanie Perepolkin, who retired earlier this year from her most recent position as administrative assistant for the School of Environment & Geomatics and School of Health & Human Services, worked an impressive 36 years at the college in a number of different capacities. The other retirees on the list include:

  • Denise Lightburn – Building Service Worker (14 years) 
  • Tami O'Meara – Counsellor (14 years)
  • Ian Parfitt – Researcher at Selkirk Innovates; Instructor in School of Environment & Geomatics (22 years)
  • Lawrence Perepolkin – Developer (11 years)
  • Julie Rigby – Welcome Centre Reception (22 years)
  • Mark Spielman – Instructor in the Contemporary Music & Technology Program (33 years)
  • Carolyn Tuai – Housing Coordinator (12 years)
  • Lawrence Zaystoff –  Instructor in the School of Industry & Trades Training (11 years)
  • Liana Zwick – Director of Information Technology (28 years)

Congratulations to all recipients and retirees! The Selkirk College community is stronger for your service.  

Learn more about careers at Selkirk College.

SDG 4 Quality Education

 Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) #4: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.